of Justice

About us

  • What we do
  • Responsibilities
  • Priorities
  • Who we are

Minister of Justice

The Rt Hon John Perry  (2010-present)

Minister of Justice, appointed by royal decree in 2010, since taking office, John has devoted himself selflessly to our Kingdom.

Predecessor Allen Johnston abdicated due to health reasons, Minister Perry was appointed office of minister on 2011 on a temporal basis meaning until the kingdom has had its first elections for this office John will remain in office as long as he is able to serve.

Past Ministers

Allen Johnston  (2009-2011)

Contact MOJ

Office secretary and general enquiries

What we do

We work to protect the public and reduce reoffending, and to provide a more effective, transparent and responsive criminal justice system for victims and the public.


We are responsible for these parts of the justice system:

    1. courts
    2. prisons
    3. probation services
    4. attendance centres
    5. foreign custody/captivity
We also work in partnership with the other government departments and agencies to reform the criminal justice system, to serve the public and support the victims of crime. We are also responsible for making new laws, strengthening democracy, and safeguarding human rights.

In 2013 our priorities are to:

    1. reduce reoffending by using the skills of the public, private and voluntary sectors
    2. reduce youth crime by putting education at the centre of youth justice
    3. build a prison system that delivers maximum value for money
    4. reduce the cost of legal aid and ensure it helps those cases that genuinely need it
    5. improve the way our courts are run and put the needs of victims first

Who we are

We are one of the largest government departments, employing around 24 people (including those in the Probation Service), with a budget of approximately $100,000. Each year, hundreds of people use our services across the Kingdom of Pentortoise – including at 4 courts and tribunals, and 1 prisons in North America.

We work with many other government agencies, including:

  • HM Courts and Tribunals Service
  • HM Prison Service
  • Probation Service
  • National Offender Management Service (NOMS)
  • Treaty Violation Council
  • Legal Services Commission
  • Youth Justice Board